Posted in Tribute

Andrew Must Have Absorbed All That Persistence

24 Sept 2015

I was a house husband and full time caregiver for both Andrew and Nathan. I had great fun for a couple years while Kathy worked full time to pay the bills.  I was unemployed (again) when Andrew was born 30 years ago.

It’s remarkable that I was suddenly self-employed at the birthdate of my first 3 children. And for Andrew’s first 10 months I had lots of hard work but not much revenue. My last job prior to becoming a full time house husband was selling books office to office. I made $3 a book. If I walked through 200 offices a day I would sell 200 books a week and the $600 would pay our bills. But those were the good weeks. And trust me it required great persistence to push past all the no solicitor signs that greeted me at every turn and in every state I traveled my family to sell these books.

Andrew must have absorbed all that persistence and entrepreneurship into his DNA because no one was ever like Andrew. He was at his happiest in a room with forty kids and he was forever working out ways to make money. At age 7 he was determined to outsell all the other candy sellers in his class. And he was remarkable going door to door selling candy bars. He not only sold his candy but all of Nathan’s candy as well. One lady answered the door and explained she had no cash to buy a candy bar. To which Andrew replied he would be happy to take a check. As she was writing the check Andrew remarked, “You do not want to make out a check for only $2 when $10 will get you 5 candy bars.” Andrew returned with a check for $10. As he got older Andrew formed a lawn mowing business with his brother. Andrew leveraged the Texas heat to secure his business. He would hear a neighbor down the block powering up his lawn mower and run to greet them saying, “You do not want to work like that in this Texas sun, when I will mow your lawn for $10?” The next day he would go door to door offering to wash cars. Again keeping the neighbors out of the sun. At school he would sell candy bars for a $1 that he bought for 25 cents (until the school office shut him down). Before iPods and Napster and Spotify Andrew made money creating mix CDs for a $1. He walked around his high school with a briefcase full of CDs always ready to make a sale.

So it’s no surprise at all that Andrew has found so much success in his 30 years, born of his perseverance, dedication, and exceptional talent. I eagerly look forward to the next 30 years.

Happy Birthday, Andrew.

Leave a Reply

